The Institute

The Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN) is the umbrella professional body for bankers in Nigeria.

Membership of Governing Council of the Institute

  1. There is established for the Institute a Governing Council (in this Act referred to as ‘’the Council’’) which shall be charged with the responsibility for the administration and general management of the Institute.

  2. The Council shall consist of the following members:

    1. A Chairman who shall be the President of the Institute

    2. Two Vice-Chairmen

    3. A National Treasurer

    4. The Governor of the Central Bank or his representative;

    5. The Managing Director of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation or his representative

    6. Six Managing Directors/Chief Executive of Banks to be appointed by the Council

    7. Six persons elected by the Institute

    8. Two past Presidents of the Institute

    9. A representative each of the following federal ministries

      1. Finance
      2. Education
      3. Mortgage/Micro Finance Banking Institutions (alternates)

    10. A representative each of the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE)

    11. a representative of branches in each zone of the Institute and such other zones as may be created by the Council from time to time; and

    12. The Registrar/Chief Executive who shall serve as the secretary

Governing Council Members: 2020 – 2022
1 Dr. Bayo Williams Olugbemi, FCIB President/CC
2 Kenneth Opara, Ph.D., FCIB 1st Vice President
3 Prof. Pius Oladeji Olanrewaju, Ph.D., FCIB 2nd Vice President
4 Mr. Dele Alabi, FCIB National Treasurer
5 Prof. Segun Ajibola, Ph.D, FCIB Past President
6 Uche M. Olowu, Ph.D, FCIB Past President
7 Mrs. Rafiat Oluwatoyin Onitiri, ACIB Other Elected Member
8 Mr. Olayinka Odutola, FCIB Other Elected Member
9 Mr. Rahman Ajayi, FCIB Other Elected Member
10 Dr. Godwin Adolor, FCIB Other Elected Member
11 Mr. Adewunmi Adeniyi, FCIB Other Elected Member
12 Barr.(Mrs) Toyin Ojo, FCIB Other Elected Member
13 Prof. Uchenna Uwaleke, ACIB Chairman, FCT Branch
14 Mr. Peter Ashade, FCIB Chairman, Lagos State Branch
15 Mr. C.O. Ezeagu, MCIB, FCIB Chairman, Enugu State Branch
16 Mr. Michael Odere, ACIB Chairman, Cross River State Branch
17 Mrs. Funke Ladimeji, HCIB Chairperson, Association of Professional Women Bankers (APWB)
18 Alhaji Shehu Goringo Chairman, Gombe State Branch
19 Ms. Mary Aina, ACIB Chairman, Canada Branch
20 Mr. Herbert Wigwe, FCIB GMD/CEO Access Bank Plc/Chair, Body of Banks CEO
21 Mr. Abubakar Suleiman, HCIB MD/CEO Sterling Bank
22 Dr. Adesola Kazeem Adeduntan, FCIB GMD/CEO, First Bank of Nigeria
23 Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo, FCIB MD/CEO, Fidelity Bank Plc
24 Mr. Patrick Akinwuntan, FCIB MD/CEO, Ecobank Nigeria Limited
25 Mr. Banjo Adegbohungbe, HCIB MD/CEO, Coronation Merchant Bank
26 Mr. Godwin Emefiele, FCIB Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria
27 Mr. Hassan Bello Managing Director/Chief Executive, Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation
28 Prof Abubakar Adamu Rasheed Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission
29 Mrs. Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed Minister of Finance, Federal Ministry of Finance
30 Mallam Adamu Adamu Ministry of Education, Federal Ministry of Education
31 Prof. Idris Bugaje Executive Secretary, National Board for Technical Education
32 Mr. Richard Olubameru President, Mortgage Bankers Association of Nigeria
33 Mr. Rogers Augustine Nwoke HCIB MCIB President, National Association of Microfinance Banks (NAMB)
34 Mrs Funmi Balogun, FCIB Co-opted Member
35 Dr. Nosike Agokei, FCIB Co-opted Member
36 Mrs. Risikatu Ahmed, HCIB Co-opted Member
37 Mr. Abdullahi Ibrahim, HCIB Co-opted Member
38 Mrs. Yvonne Isichei, FCIB Co-opted Member
39 ‘Seye Awojobi, Ph.D, FCIB Registrar/Chief Executive